Home > SCCM 2007 / 2012 > SCCM 2007: Task Sequence Error 0x80004005

SCCM 2007: Task Sequence Error 0x80004005

Again I had weird issues with my WINPE boot during my Build and capture task sequence within SCCM 2007. I came across an unmeaning full error 0x80004005 which rebooted my reference machine each time again. I spend quite some time to solve this error because it turned out that this was related to the Management point instead of the PXE component.

 0x80004005

Error 0x80004005

It’s very advisable to investigate the smsts.log files to troubleshoot task sequence errors. The log file is located on different locations depending on the task sequence process. My reference machine rebooted even before format so I needed to get my log file from the Windows PE before HDD format: x:\windows\temp\smstslog\smsts.log. You need to press F8 during WINPE to get command line abilities and copy your log file to another destination.  Make sure that “Enable command support” is enabled in your boot image properties ( Operating system deployment – Boot images – right click your boot image – properties –  WINPE tab)

I found the following Certificate error:

NO MP Certificates

This was strange because my PXE certificate was still valid. On the Internet I found some advices to re-install the Management point and PXE point and after verification of the setup logs I found again a strange error in the MPSetup.log file (C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Configuration Manager\Logs\MPSetup.log)

Fatal MSI Error – mp.msi could not be installed.

Solution for me:

  • Uninstall BITS feature
  • Reboot
  • Install BITS features
  • Uninstall Management point Role in SCCM 2007
  • Install Management point Role again in SCCM 2007
  • Reboot

Thanks to Technet Blog

Categories: SCCM 2007 / 2012
  1. May 6, 2013 at 12:00 am

    Hiya! I simply wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the good info you’ve right here on
    this post. I can be coming back to your weblog for more soon.

  2. May 31, 2013 at 7:48 am

    Hiya! I just want to give a huge thumbs up for the good information you’ve got
    right here on this post. I will likely be coming back to your blog for extra soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

